CAMP’s resident experimental music ensemble.

Benjamin headshot
Photo: Susanna Hancock

Null-state Co-Founder

Benjamin D. Whiting

His music having being described as “marvelously intriguing” and “evocative” in a Fanfare review, composer Benjamin D. Whiting is perpetually seeking to find new and exciting ways in which technology can assist composers and performers by augmenting their expressive potential.

He has had performances and given talks on his electroacoustic work at festivals including ICMC, SEAMUS, NYCEMF, N_SEME, EMM, eviMus, EMUFest, TIES, Sonorities Festival of Contemporary Music, USF New-Music Festival, TUTTI, CMS, and MUSLAB. He also continues to compose in a completely acoustic medium, having recently been commissioned by The Florida Orchestra and the University of South Florida to compose Bonn Chance, a piece for full orchestra celebrating the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth.

In addition to his activity as a composer, Whiting is Co-Founder of Null-state, CAMP’s resident electronic music ensemble that strives to pave the way for the continued innovation and growth of electronic and electroacoustic music through its Chaosflöte project and research into new techniques in live coding. Null-state also spreads the joy of electronically enhanced music making to all by giving lectures, workshops, and concerts at public institutions, such as the University of Central Florida, the University of South Florida, Eastern Florida State College, Wayne State University, and the Melrose Center. He has been the recipient of a New Music USA grant to further these goals, and Null-state has been invited to be the featured guest ensemble of PMF~ 2022 at UI South Bend.

Whiting received his A.Mus.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Recordings of his music can be found on the ABLAZE Records, University of Illinois Experimental Music Studios, Navona Records, Music From SEAMUS, and Odd Pop labels. His newest work, Cave Paintings of Discourse, is slated to be released on Eunmi Ko’s new digital album in 2022, SPAM!, to be published by Neuma Records.