Call For Works

CAMPGround22 Call for Works

Application Guidelines


The Contemporary Art Music Project (CAMP) will host its inaugural CAMPGround festival from 24–26 March in the vibrant downtown areas of Tampa and St. Petersburg, Florida. CAMP welcomes compositions in any style, performance, and aesthetic. Selected works will be performed by CAMP performing artists and ensembles. Our featured performers in 2022 include Arda Cabaoglu, Melody Chua, Zachary Hale, Jamie Jordan, Eunmi Ko, Robert McCormick and the McCormick Percussion Group, Doug O’Connor, Carol Tsai, Sini Virtanen, and Katherine Weintraub.

Commissioning Opportunity

  • In celebration of our very first CAMPGround festival, CAMP is offering a special commissioning opportunity!
  • The three top-scoring composers from the adjudication process will be invited to compose a new piece, to be recorded by CAMP performing artists.
  • Selected pieces will be included on a new digital album (to be released by Neuma Records).
  • Entry into this competition is automatic upon submitting to the CAMPGround22 festival.

Participant Eligibility

  • This call is open to all composers regardless of age, gender, or nationality. Those belonging to disadvantaged or underrepresented ethnic groups are especially encouraged to apply.
  • There is a $10USD non-refundable entry fee for each submitted work. Please remit your payment of $10USD per submitted work to via PayPal upon completing your application.
  • Selected participants are required to attend the festival. The Contemporary Art Music Project is not responsible for providing or reimbursing any travel or lodging expenses for selected participants. Official letters of invitation will be provided upon request to help secure funding from grants or institutions that a participant may be affiliated with.
  • If selected, a registration fee of $75USD will be due by 31 December 2021 to secure participation in the festival.
  • Selected composers must be in attendance for the entire festival.

Composition Eligibility

  • Submitted works must have been composed no earlier than 2014.
  • Compositions must be between 5 and 20 minutes in duration.
  • There is no restriction placed on the number of prior performances compositions may have had.
  • There are no restrictions placed on the style, aesthetic, or notational convention of any piece.
  • Composers may use their own performers provided they indicate as such on the submission form.

Submission Guidelines

  • Submissions will only be accepted online. No hard copy submissions will be accepted.
  • Each composer may submit up to two (2) works, each in a unique category (see below).
  • Submissions should include links to a legible score (if applicable) and recording. MIDI recordings are acceptable if no live recordings exist, but are not desired.
  • Scores and recordings must be uploaded to an online file sharing service (Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.) or streaming platform (Soundcloud, YouTube, vimeo, etc.) and remain accessible until November 30, 2021. The use of file transfer services like WeTransfer is prohibited.
  • Submissions must include a brief biography of the composer. (150 word maximum)
  • Program notes are highly encouraged but are not required. (300 word maximum)
  • Submissions including electronics must include a complete technical rider included in the score, or as a separate attachment if no score is available (e.g., for a fixed media acousmatic piece).

Submission Categories

  1. Unaccompanied solo instrument or voice
  2. Duo or solo instrument/voice with accompaniment
  3. Mixed ensemble (3 to 8 performers)
  4. Fixed electronic playback (i.e., acousmatic)*
  5. 1–5 performers with fixed or live electronics*
  6. Percussion ensemble (2 to 6 performers)

* While pieces for multichannel setup (4-8 channels) will be accepted, only electroacoustic works in stereo—including stereo mixdowns of multichannel pieces—can be guaranteed performance at this time.

Instrument List

PLEASE REVIEW THE INSTRUMENT LIST unless you provide your own performers:

  • 2 Flutes (including featured artist Melody Chua)
  • Clarinet
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon
  • Horn
  • Trumpet (featured artist Arda Cabaoglu)
  • 2 Saxophones (featured artists Doug O’Connor and Katherine Weintraub)
  • 6 Percussionists* (drawn from the McCormick Percussion Ensemble and featured artist Zach Hale)
  • 2 Pianos (including featured artist Eunmi Ko)
  • Suzuki Andes Recorder Keyboard (featured artist Eunmi Ko)
  • Soprano (featured artist Jamie Jordan)
  • 2 Violins (including featured artist Sini Virtanen)
  • Viola
  • Cello (featured artist Carol Tsai)

*   Please click here for a list of available percussion instruments.

Selected composers will be notified by 30 November 2021
The festival registration fee of $75.00USD is due by 31 December 2021

For any questions, please contact us here.